Creating Art Through Video

14 08 2007

I was doing quite a bit of research until the wee hours of the morning about video art and using video as a medium for art. I came up with quite a few interesting search results, but have really found very little in terms of using todays digital media and technology as a medium for this type of work. In fact the closest thing that I could really find was experimental film. While reading the wiki’s on these various topics I ended up surfing a lot of other wiki pages and coming across more interesting topics on the subject of video, but I could find no niche for much of the work that I am doing now.

Finally while surfing I came across a page that may have some of what I am looking for. That page was VideoArt.net. On this page I found a lot of other folks who are uploading their videos as a means of art. They are also expressing themselves in many different ways with their films such as musical films, silent films, avant-garde films and experimental films. So after hours of searching, watching and uploading I can see now the video art is really something that has a chance to take off!

So what I have done is put something together for my LOUD Tour TV show that I would like all of you to watch! This is a relatively short video that is intended to kick off this brand new project of mine. I would like to say that it is an original idea, but it appears as though it is a mish-mash of a bunch of ideas. Truly experimental, and hopefully artistic! So take a look at the video and tell me what you think!

[blip.tv ?posts_id=344830&dest=-1]

Actions

Information

3 responses

14 08 2007
Aaron Valdez

Check out DV Blog for a good jumping off point for video art on the web. There’s a lot out there. Also Google wreckandsalvage.com, Nanoramas, Patalab, Pouringdown.tv, Trace Garden, videohaiku.blogspot.com, Next to Heaven. Also look at videos at http://freewaves.org

Enjoy!

15 08 2007
spcbrass

Hey Aaron thanks for stopping by and for all of the information! I’ll be sure to check all of that out today!

17 08 2007
GabeB

Dude! I like your laptop sticker! You also have a great vlog going here. keep up the good work! cheers, Gabe. (the other one)

Leave a Reply

